ABTA: Home of the American Bridge Teachers' Association

“To help those who teach bridge to do it better, more effectively, more knowledgeably, more professionally.”


ABTA Chat on BBO

Our monthly on-line Chat sessions are informal, friendly and fun. They enable us to network with other teachers, comparing notes, ideas, frustrations and successes. See BBO Chat in the Members section for more information and a current schedule of upcoming discussions.

BBO Chat Online...

(Fourth Sunday at 8:30PM EDT)

Topics and dates for 2012

Date Topic
Feb 26, 2012 Mini-lessons. You have probably been asked to do these at some point, maybe before a game. How do you structure these, with a small group or with a larger group? Where do you find good material? Do you give a handout? What works well for you?
Mar 25, 2012 Conventions, do you teach them or avoid them for as long as possible? What do our students need, at the beginner level? at the intermediate level? What is your approach?
Apr 22, 2012 Counting the cards, this is so difficult for students struggling with bidding and play guidelines. Counting trump is a first step but at what point do you introduce counting the whole hand?

Our monthly on-line Chat sessions are informal, friendly and fun. They enable us to network with other teachers, comparing notes, ideas, frustrations and successes. For those who have not yet tried this form of communication, here’s how it works.

To take part you need to download the Bridge Base program from:

www.bridgebase.com

Log into BBO on the fourth Sunday evening of each month (usually) to chat with other ABTA teachers about the posted topic or ask any question of other teachers. Time is 8.30 Eastern, 7.30 Central, 6.30 Mountain and 5.30 Pacific.  A reminder is sent each month to all members by email, if we have your current email address.

To take part you need to have the OLDER, WINDOWS program for BBO downloaded onto your computer.  If you don’t have that, go to www.bridgebase.com and click on ‘download the older, windows program’. Then you will have an icon on your desktop that will take you to the log-in screen. Make up an ID and password for yourself. Once you are in the ‘lobby’ click on ‘other bridge activities’ to find Chat Rooms.

Please note that the new web browser BBO program does NOT support Chat Rooms.

If you have any problems with this, or need further information, please email Chat Coordinator

msparrow@csolve.net

Hope to see you at our next session!
Maggie Sparrow
Barrie, ON, Canada

Tags: