ABTA: Home of the American Bridge Teachers' Association

“To help those who teach bridge to do it better, more effectively, more knowledgeably, more professionally.”

In conjunction with the ABTA, Master Point Press, the largest book and ebook seller in North America, has completed its search for this year’s Teacher of the Year.  The winner will receive a crystal plaque and a cash award, in recognition of excellence in teaching.

The selection Committee evaluated student nominations for their teachers, from twelve different states, plus Canada.  Nominated teachers are carefully screened for their teaching excellence and innovation, plus service to bridge and their communities. Teachers submitted teaching materials and videos, along with their teaching philosophy and background information.

We are pleased to announce the following finalists, for 2017:

Robert Barrington, New York, NY
Joann Glasson, Pennington, NJ
Bruce Greenspan, Bonita Springs, FL
Josee Hammill, Toronto, Canada
Henry Meguid, Durham, NC
Jim Ricker, Knoxville, TN
Kathy Rolfe, Lake Winnebago, MO
Enid Roitman, Toronto, Canada
Grant Robinson, Dublin, CA

Nominees, students and finalists are invited to the Teacher of the Year presentation, on Thursday, July 20, 2017, from 9:00 am to 10:30 am at the ABTA Conference. All finalists and will be presented and this year’s Teacher of the Year will be announced.   

2017 Teacher of the Year Committee:   Barbara Seagram, Larry Cohen, Mary Jane Orock, Tina Radding, Kathie Walsh, Chairman, Joyce Penn